Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Interview Request: Political Art Sources

Posted 03-03-2020 04:13 PM
    Hello all!

My name is Katie Malone and I'm a graduate student at American University in Washington, D.C.  I joined this forum because I'm looking for sources for my final capstone project that would be interested in participating in an interview about political art. In particular, I'm looking for individuals that have curated political art exhibits, have scholarly or expert level knowledge on political art, artists that create political art, or individuals associated with a political art community. It would be an hour long conversation (or whatever you can fit into your schedule!) about the topic at-large and specific case studies, if you have knowledge of them. 

It would be an on the record conversation, but happy to use aliases such as "artist you specializes in X" or "curator at X museum" if absolutely necessary. 

If interested, I can provide additional information about the interview via this forum or over email at km7475a@student.american.edu 

Thank you!

------------------------------
    Katie Malone
    Student
    American University
    Washington DC
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Interview Request: Political Art Sources

Posted 03-04-2020 07:12 AM
    I would be happy to discuss our many White House Christmas cards on display as art, as well as the controversial, first-ever, move away from tradition by the Clinton's who had a photograph taken in 1994. 

This was then turned into a Christmas card and many people complained that they ruined the tradition of art in the two political parties that had been used for so long. This large photograph is framed and on display with the other political party paid for art in paintings and cards.

Thank you, from Marti

Martin CJ Mongiello, MBA, MA, MCFE.