Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Demographic Information

Posted 03-29-2022 03:29 PM
    Hello all! My name is Regan and I am a junior anthropology/archaeology student at the University of Oklahoma. I am currently partnering with a small museum in my town to create a project for one of my classes. The project we are doing is aiming for ways to get demographic information from museum guests. Currently, volunteers simply tally mark every time a guest comes into the museum, which is obviously very limited information. I wanted to see if anybody had any information on what other museums use to gather this type of data, whether it is a short survey guests complete upon entering or something else. Any sort of insight or information would be helpful!

------------------------------
    Regan Crider
    Student
    Edmond OK
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Demographic Information

Posted 03-29-2022 03:58 PM
    Hi Regan, 

The front desk clerks at my museum ask each guest for their zip code upon entry. This information gives us insight into the county, state, and country in which our guests reside, and gives us the opportunity to engage with guests - particularly with those who are visiting from out of town and may be unfamiliar with our museum and city.

We analyze the zip code data and create infographics which are presented to our board members and community. These infographics are used to advocate for a host of museum resources - tax payer funding, grants, new positions, additional programming, etc. 

In my experience, asking guests for their zip code is a very non-intrusive method of gathering data. I've also never heard of or experienced any guests refusing to give this information. 

I would also recommend looking into the work of Colleen Dilenschneider. She is THE resource on museum data. 

Hope this helps! Best of luck in your endeavors!

Cherish Thomas
    Florence County Museum