Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Collection/Object numbering

• 1.  Collection/Object numbering

Posted 04-24-2018 05:53 PM

Hi this is my first post and it is sort of long! I included an explanation, but my actual questions are at the end of the post! 

Okay, so the small historic house museum I work at is currently trying to organize/update the archives, a process which is taking a long time. I am an emerging museum professional and this is my first museum job so I am learning as I go. Well, I recently learned that object numbering is a thing - a thing that flat out does not exist in our archives or on our objects. 

So I participated in a webinar about object numbering, which provided a lot of answers but also a lot of questions. I tried reaching out to the presenter but have not heard back so I thought I would ask here! 

Obviously, object numbering is a useful and necessary cataloging tool and standard museum practice. But we don't even have a system to START from, beyond the organized objects in our archival boxes and their finding aids. I was talking with our director and a staff member who has a degree in archaeology. Originally, I wanted our numbers to look something like [year item was acquired].[collection number].[box number].[folder number].[item number in that folder]. So it would look like 2018.10.3.2.15. So we would know that this was acquired in 2018, it is in the 10th collection, in box 3, folder two, item 15. Our archaeologist made a great point that basing the numbering system on the boxing system is a risky idea because item 2018.10.3.2.15 might not always be housed in that box and file number and it opens it up to duplicates. 

The other struggle is that we don't know when certain items were acquired. (the staff has completely  turned over). 

Our current system in development looks like this: