Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Assessing Succes: Challenges for Museums?

Posted 03-28-2022 11:58 AM
    Edited by Michele Mandula 04-04-2022 01:15 PM
    Hello community!

I am a current graduate student studying service design and its applications to museums. As such, I'm interested in understanding if/what the current process is for museums to assess their success and progress towards goals for small and mid-sized museums.

It doesn't seem to be standardized, though there are many recommendations of ways / methods to use (ACM Benchmark Calculator, SMART goals, Balanced Scorecard, Six Sigma, etc.). Would standardization (or stronger recommendations around minimum metrics / KPIs to report) be helpful or useful? What are the current pain points you are facing trying to assess your institution's success? What is the process by which your organization(s) approach this? Does everyone get a say, or is the Assessment/Evaluation team the only one involved?

If you want to provide feedback, please do so through this anonymous form! If you want to chat further, there is an option to indicate that at the end of the form.

Thank you, and cheers!

------------------------------
    Michele Mandula
    Savannah College of Art and Design
    Savannah GA
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Assessing Succes: Challenges for Museums?

Posted 04-04-2022 03:14 PM