Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Pet vs Service vs comfort animal policy

• 1.  Pet vs Service vs comfort animal policy

Posted 04-01-2019 01:05 PM

I am curious as to what museum's policies are for animals in the museum. What can you ask? What can't you ask?  I would appreciate directing me to any written policies.

Thanks,

Delta Pick Mello

Executive Director / CEO

Sacramento History Alliance

101 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Office: 916-808-7108

Cell: 916-769-7678

FAX: 916-808-5100

Email: dmello@cityofsacramento.org

Inspiring And Connecting People Through History 

AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Pet vs Service vs comfort animal policy

Posted 04-02-2019 07:46 AM
    Hi Delta, 
    I'm a disabled veteran with mostly invisible injuries, and I have a service dog of my own, so I'm answering your questions from my own knowledge of the law and experience in handling service dogs. 

According to the Americans with Disabilities Act, you can ask two questions:
    IS that dog needed to help with a disability?
    And
    What tasks is it trained to perform?

Service animals are to help mitigate a person's disability- which may or may not be visible. The dog's legal position in this case is that it is a medical device, no different from an insulin pump or crutches. It is there to provide trained tasks for one person. There is no federal regulating authority on service animals, so there are no ID Cards, vests or certification papers a SD handler needs to have- all of that can be bought online without any evidence of disability or training. (Yeah, they don't even have to wear a vest. I know how frustrating that can be, but the laws err on the side of allowing a dirt-poor person to have this kind of medical device with as little financial drain as possible)