Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Past Perfect Object ID Question

Posted 08-22-2019 07:21 PM
    I am new to Past Perfect and am still learning the program.  We imported all of our old collection information into the program, and I am just now adding new records.  The issue I am having is that Past Perfect is not correctly numerically sorting our records.  I have done the Main Menu - Setup - System Parameters, and chosen to sort by Numeric sorting with "-" as my separator.   All of our old numbers that we imported, which have leading zeros (for ex. QM2002-02-003), come up in correct numeric order in the records, BUT, our new numbers that I am just now entering, which do not have leading zeros since we have decided to drop them, are not coming up in order.  So, what PP is doing is this order:

QM2019-1-1
    QM2019-1-10
    QM2019-1-11
    QM2019-1-12
    QM2019-1-13
    QM2019-1-14
    QM2019-1-15
    QM2019-1-16
    QM2019-1-17
    QM2019-1-18
    QM2019-1-19
    QM2019-1-2
    QM2019-1-20

Does anyone know how I can correct this?  Thanks so much!

------------------------------
    Tammy
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Past Perfect Object ID Question

Posted 08-23-2019 07:46 AM
    We use PPT.  I do not know how to correct your problem, since our imported Object ID numbers are highly idiosyncratic (possibly unique), but we have found, even though it can be time-consuming, the help desk is an excellent resource.  First, because they will literally stay on the phone with you for hours (which is why they may have to call you back and you may have to wait a couple of hours for that) and they will resolve your problem, even "taking over" your computer.  Second, because the problems you report DO make them consider how to correct glitches, bugs and issues irritating to users in future updates and upgrades!

GOOD LUCK!

Vivian F. Zoë, Director
    Slater Memorial Museum
    108 Crescent Street, Norwich CT 06360