Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Black Lives Matter and Museum Education- Program Models

Posted 09-08-2020 02:40 PM
    Hi All, 

I am a Museum Studies masters student at the University of San Francisco and am working on my final Capstone paper which is analyzing the ways art museum educators are responding to the Black Lives Matter Movement through programming. I am hoping to gather models of programs that are engaging students about BLM topics or have been influenced by strategies such as antiracist pedagogy, critical race theory, critical pedagogy, etc. If your museum, art or otherwise, has an applicable program I would love to hear about it in a short blurb. Also, if you know of other museums doing this work, I would greatly appreciate your suggestions.  

Thank you so much for your help,

Bridget Girnus

------------------------------
    Bridget Girnus 
    MA Candidate | Museum Studies
    University of San Francisco
    btgirnus@dons.usfca.edu
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Black Lives Matter and Museum Education- Program Models

Posted 09-09-2020 08:31 AM
    Hello Bridget,
     I am the director of education at a public university in Miami. The Patricia & Phillip Frost Art Museum is producing programs to engage students from all backgrounds to participate in poetry, spoken word event. We have several exhibitions that support conversations on DEAI.
    Checkout or webpage  frost.fiu.edu
    I work with many interns and graduate students so I am happy to help you in any way I can. 

Miriam Machado, M.A. 
    Director of Education
    Frost Art Museum 
    mmachado@fiu.edu

Miriam Machado
    CURATOR OF EDUCATION
    Frost Art Museum
    Florida International University

Miami FL

AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 3.  RE: Black Lives Matter and Museum Education- Program Models

Posted 09-09-2020 12:13 PM