Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  VIVELAND virtual reality theme park

Posted 10-27-2016 01:18 PM

Hello All,

As a creator of software I have a question for the group.

Our content will be part of the first VIVELAND virtual reality theme park opening October 29.

As consumers are exposed to VR will they begin to expect it in the museum environment as well?  Is there a place for such in museums and science centres?

WodK44CMTrKUbV717Zuk_vive_arcade.jpg

------------------------------
    Mike Sorrenti
    Aurora ON
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: VIVELAND virtual reality theme park

Posted 10-28-2016 12:07 PM

Greetings Mike,

And, best of luck to you and VIVELAND.

I am a big fan of 3D / VR / AR tech and have been a proponent of such experiences since red/blue glasses were the best viewing technology.

As an exhibit designer I have been faced with one big problem. as the technology gets "better" it also seem to get more isolating. One of the key functions, IMHO, of an informal educational experience, is the social connection, bringing people together across generations, across cultural lines, etc. Almost all of the VR experiences I have seen require a single user blinded from the outside world and yet exposed to it at the same time. One person is having an isolated personal experience while the friends, family and strangers watch them engage is some odd hallucinogenic dance.  I have real trouble with this scenario. 

There are some new experiences that take advantage of this set-up. "keep talking and nobody explodes" is the one title where the user acts as a guide for the rest of the un-seeing group. The group has to work together to achieve a common goal.  If museums can create content where the experience is shared, among "seeing" and "non seeing" participants then, I think there is some real opportunities.

Bart

Bart Hays
    Senior Exhibition Designer
    Monterey Bay Aquarium
    Monterey CA