Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Looking for extra UV protective window film

Posted 07-20-2016 01:53 PM
    Greetings,
    A Syrian refugee family will soon be coming to Eugene, Oregon, where I live and work (as an interpretive planning consultant). Some of us are helping to prepare a house for this family, whose 4-year-old suffers from xerodoma pigmentosa--his body doesn't repair the damage done by UV rays. We need enough 99% protective window film to cover the windows in a small house. I've tried various manufacturers but so far no luck. All suggestions welcome. Please note that this family has kept their son alive for four years, first in war-torn Syria and then in a refugee camp in Turkey. He must be some special kid!

Thanks for your consideration,
    Alice Parman 
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Looking for extra UV protective window film

Posted 07-21-2016 09:25 AM

Good Morning - I am not an expert but you may find some help at uvprocess.com who supply UV filters.  There is also xps.org a support group for families and people with this condition.  Perhaps they can recommend products they have found and used.  I wish you well in helping this family.  Service to others in need is beautiful.  

------------------------------
    Gurufateh Khalsa
    Manager
    Siri Singh Sahib Corp
    Santa Cruz NM

AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 3.  RE: Looking for extra UV protective window film

Posted 07-21-2016 09:45 AM

You should look into 3M Prestige Window Film for residences.

Window film for sun control and safety in your home - 3M US

3m remove preview
    Window film for sun control and safety in your home - 3M US
    Improve the comfort of your home and increase energy savings while you reduce solar glare and furniture fading with 3M clear and tinted residential window films.
    View this on 3m >

They claim 99% UV rejection.

Benjamin Gonzales