Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Methods for Part Time Staff Scheduling - Please Share

• 1.  Methods for Part Time Staff Scheduling - Please Share

Posted 07-08-2016 09:46 AM

I am new to my position and I am working with a scheduling system from my predecessor. The part-time educators I am scheduling don't like the system, I don't like the system, so I am wondering, what are the other ways museums schedule their part-time staff? 

We are currently using a complex Google Calendar setup, which works in ways, but can be confusing. Do some people use Doodle? Do some have staff fill out availability on a paper calendar a month prior? What do you find that works well to schedule part-time staff that are, many times, juggling many different museum jobs.

I thank you for your insight!

------------------------------
    Max Metz
    Durant-Kenrick Manager/ Anne Larner Museum Educator
    Historic Newton - Newton MA
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Methods for Part Time Staff Scheduling - Please Share

Posted 07-11-2016 06:03 AM

We use workschedule.net for all of our part time and 3/4 time educators. There's administrator access and educator access. As an educator, it seems like a pretty good system. I can access my work schedule anywhere online. It allows us to request time off. Is fairly easy to navigate/use. I know it took a big effort to change over to the system, and I'm not familiar with the administrative side of things, but it has definitely made a big difference for our department when it comes to scheduling a lot of different people and moving parts. I hope this helps!

Amber Parham
    Museum Educator/Performer
    Denver Museum of Nature & Science
    Denver CO

AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 3.  RE: Methods for Part Time Staff Scheduling - Please Share

Posted 07-11-2016 09:48 AM