Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  LED Lighting

Posted 02-11-2016 07:12 PM

I'm curious about experiences with and recommendations for transitioning from halogen spot and flood to LEDs.

Color temp and preferred brands and any brands to avoid.

Thank you

TomJ

------------------------------
    Thomas Johnston
    Evergreen Gallery, The Evergreen State College
    Olympia WA
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: LED Lighting

Posted 02-12-2016 08:57 AM

Paul here at Milwaukee Public Museum. I am the person for replacing the lighting in the exhibit cases. I have been ordering TCP brand LED lighting products for several years. We order the 3000K color temperature.

They offer a very lenient warranty on their products & the supplier stocks them in town. We use the "Elite" Par series in many cases & exhibit area. I started to convert our Rain Forest exhibit back in May of 2010.

A school group went thru the exhibit and hit every other 39 Par20 Narrow Flood halogen to where the lamp burned out. Normally, a case of 15 bulbs will last me a month, the case was gone in 1 day. I secured permission

From our Exhibit Lighting Designer & the museums CFO and ordered the LED marketed by GE. These were only rated 25,000 hours but found that they lasted well into 2014.

AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 3.  RE: LED Lighting

Posted 02-12-2016 09:12 AM

Hi Tom,