Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Experience

Posted 04-23-2015 08:05 AM

Hello-

I am a young museum professional and I find myself in an unique situation that I hope you can help me with. Currently I am the New York State Education Department's Chartering Coordinator, which means that I help the museums and historical societies in  New York State gain their charter or incorporation. I have been at this job for about 4 years and have recently graduated with my Masters in Public Administration. I want to continue to work with museums, but I find myself professionally limited. I was wondering if anyone had any advice as to how I can gain more experience in a job that limits me to rules and regulations and where volunteering at a museum may be seen as a conflict of interest.  

Thanks,

Sarah

------------------------------
    Sarah Jastremski
    Charting Coordinator
    New York State Education Department
    Albany NY

AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Experience

Posted 04-24-2015 06:38 AM

Hi Sarah,

I started to write you a reply, but then my computer had a minor meltdown, so apologies if this is coming through twice. First off, congrats on your MPA and thanks for your job helping museums acquire their charters.

Apologies for answering your question with one, but what do you want to do in museums?

No matter what, confirm that volunteering is really seen as a conflict of interest. When I worked at AAM as a program officer for the Museum Assessment Program, I was fortunate enough to be somewhere that allowed for volunteering in museums, even though they could have easily said it was a conflict. So check what you can and can't do.

Next, I'd find relevant committees to join, such as the pertinent AAM professional networks. I'd also attend - and get further involved with - conferences, like AAM, MAAM, and discipline specific, such as AASLH, etc.