Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Interpretive Exhibit Image Rights and Permissions

• 1.  Interpretive Exhibit Image Rights and Permissions

Posted 06-08-2021 09:54 AM
    Hi there,

Could anyone point me towards guidelines for images used in interpretive exhibit display - rights and permissions?

What rules could apply to image use in an education display at non-profit institution (museum) with different level of visitation?

I am a Graphic Designer with an exhibit design firm working for museums and cultural centres.

A common task when we design an exhibit is image acquisition. Some images are from a museum collection, and some need to be sourced and cleared.

It is sometimes unclear if images fall under the fair use for education purposes. How to determine that?

I often contact companies like Alamy and ask for a custom license for display use. Is that a common practice?

If an image is found at, let's say, Library of Congress, is out of copyrights due to age, my understanding is that only a proper credit line is required to use that image.
    Is there a comprehensive guide on the out of copyright and public domaine imagery? 

Thank you!

------------------------------
    Yulia Semenova
    Graphic Designer
    Aldrich/Pears Associates Ltd
    Vancouver BC
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Interpretive Exhibit Image Rights and Permissions

Posted 06-09-2021 06:09 AM
    Pretty simple: if the institution whose images you wish to use hasn't posted their guidelines online, then you just need to contact the relevant archivist/curator/registrar, explain the intended use, and they will inform you regarding their policies and fees.

An increasing number of institution seem to be going toward an "open access" model when it comes to the non-commercial/educational use of images of items in their collections but again those policies should be easy enough to find.