Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Careers other than museums with a museum studies degree

• 1.  Careers other than museums with a museum studies degree

Posted 07-15-2017 05:43 PM
    Hello, I was wondering if anyone had some advice about what to use my museum studies M.A. degree for other than working in a museum? I graduated in 2015, but I've only had 3 museum-based interviews despite hundreds of applications since then. I do have prior experience with volunteer work/internships and a little bit of art gallery work.

I work as an Editorial Assistant for a website that writes about museums, but I'd like to work full-time in a museum; however, at this point it seems like it is not going to happen. Because of this, I've decided to leave the museum field and look for a position where I can use the skills I have (curation, exhibition development, interpretive planning, collections management, etc.) somewhere else. I've looked at several design firms as possibilities and received several "we don't have any current openings, but please send us your resume for future consideration" messages, which is great, but I'd like something sooner rather than later.

Does anyone know of any other places that would want someone with museum skills?

------------------------------
    Michael Appleby
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Careers other than museums with a museum studies degree

Posted 07-17-2017 09:03 AM

Hello, Michael -

You might want to keep an eye on Smithsonian Institution.  They're huge, and frequently have positions available.  Not all of them will be appropriate for your skill set, but some might. D.C. comes with a very high cost of living (driven primarily by housing costs), but not all Smithsonian entities are located there.  

Good luck,

Michael

Current Openings | OHR |Smithsonian

Si remove preview
    Current Openings | OHR |Smithsonian
    View this on Si >

Michael Holland