Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

NEGOTIATING YOUR WAY UP: AAM 2019 Panelists Needed!

• 1.  NEGOTIATING YOUR WAY UP: AAM 2019 Panelists Needed!

Posted 08-24-2018 04:15 PM
    Hi all,

I am hoping to propose a session for AAM 2019 on the topic of negotiating skills and advocating for yourself in the workplace. In general, I don't think there are enough industry resources on how to successfully negotiate during salary and promotion conversations--it remains somewhat of a taboo topic but is so important to museum professionals in all stages of their career! In addition to fiscal negotiations, I think it's also important to discuss other ways in which we can advocate for ourselves in the workplace (professional development resources, special project assignments, etc.). 

I am by no means an expert on the topic, and would propose bringing together a variety of viewpoints as a panel. In particular, I think it would be helpful to have someone in an HR position, someone with a long history of successful negotiations, and perhaps someone from AAM who works on their salary survey and can discuss industry trends. If you think you could provide valuable perspective to this topic, please let me know! Also, if this topic interests you in general let me know--I'm curious as to how much of an appeal it would have to the AAM audience, but judging by conversations I've had with colleagues it sounds like everyone could benefit from a candid and helpful discussion on the topic.

Cheers,
    Lindsay Grinstead
    Executive Assistant and Project Manager
    Chazen Museum of Art

------------------------------
    Lindsay Grinstead
    Executive Assistant to the Director and Project Manager
    Chazen Museum of Art
    Madison WI
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: NEGOTIATING YOUR WAY UP: AAM 2019 Panelists Needed!

Posted 08-27-2018 10:07 AM