Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Comparing visitor motivations to natural history museums and theme parks

Posted 05-27-2019 01:55 PM
      |   view attached
    Hi everyone,

I'm a graduate student in Museum Studies preparing a thesis around comparing visitor motivations to natural history museums and theme parks. My 3 research questions are:

1. How do visitor motivations to attend natural history museums and theme parks compare?
    2. How does incorporating theme park elements and storytelling methods into natural history museum programming and exhibition content affect visitor motivations to attend natural history museums?
    3. How does incorporating theme park elements and storytelling methods into natural history museum programming and exhibition content affect visitor perceptions of natural history museums?

I wanted to reach out to the AAM community to request feedback and/or suggestions for relevant resources. I've also attached my work-in-progress so far in case anyone was curious. I really appreciate your input!

Thank you!
    -Stephen

------------------------------
    Stephen Drury
    Security Supervisor
    Florida Museum of Natural History - University of Florida
    Gainesville FL

Attachment(s)

docx
    Drury_Thesis.docx   47 KB 1 version
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Comparing visitor motivations to natural history museums and theme parks

Posted 05-28-2019 06:31 AM
    I recommend getting in touch with Colleen Dilenschneider about this topic. She'll likely have some input and data that'll be helpful. She also has a great article and video, somewhat related, about incorporating entertainment elements into cultural exhibitions: https://www.colleendilen.com/2018/12/12/cultural-organizations-entertainment-not-dirty-word-data/

David Whitemyer AIA
    Director of Business Development
    Luci Creative
    Lincolnwood IL