Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  career advice for older worker

Posted 01-06-2021 02:01 PM

Hi, my name is Cheryl and I am trying to decide on the next step in my career path. I have a bachelor degree in Earth Science but after working for many years in laboratory settings I started working at a small museum. Because they lacked funding I was able to help in a few different areas of the museum. I really loved working in the collection with artifacts and archives and even was part of the exhibit committee. I am now working at a different museum as a curatorial assistant in the collection  and would like to ask for advice about whether it is worth it to go back to school for an online masters degree in public history.  I am turning 50 this year so I am wondering if the degree would be necessary for me to get a full time position at a museum.

Sent from Mail for Windows 10

AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: career advice for older worker

Posted 01-07-2021 08:35 AM
    Hi Cheryl