Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Decimals in inch measurements?

Posted 09-03-2018 08:51 AM
    This has been perplexing me in the past few years when working on exhibition catalogues. I am starting to have a lot of lenders send us measurements in inches with decimals instead of traditional fractions.

So far, we have been converting them back to fractions for sake of consistency. (We do the same thing if someone send us centimeters.)

I would love some conversation on this topic. Are decimals in inch measurements a new standard? Should I be doing the opposite and converting everything to the decimals? What about the future of this vs. centimeters?

Thank you for any insights and opinions.

------------------------------
    Laura Vookles
    Chief Curator of Collections
    Hudson River Museum
    Yonkers NY
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Decimals in inch measurements?

Posted 09-04-2018 11:54 AM
    While I'm no expert on museum standards, I will say that in all the different fields that I've worked in there seems to be no standard when it comes to measurements.  Even medical, that seems to do everything in centimeters and milliliters, has 2" X 4" gauze pads.  Go figure.

I can think of a few possible reasons why you are getting decimal measurements.

1.  It may have been done for clarity.  One missing or moved space can throw a measurement completely off.  215/16.  Was the intent 2 15/16 or 21 5/16?  

2. The measurements were taken from technical drawings.  The only drawings I've ever seen that used fractional measurements were architectural.  

3.  The measurements were converted from metric. 

4.  With the exception of wood working, I think there is just a general move away from using fractions.  Personally, when I share measurements with someone, I stick with decimal.  And if sharing with a group, I try to include the metric equivalent.

Hope this helps.

Bill Browne
    Westlake LA