Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Loaned objects during emergencies

Posted 11-15-2017 11:30 AM
    Hi everyone!
    I am a graduate student at the University of Toronto working towards both my Master's of Museum Studies and my Master's of Information with a concentration in Archives and Records Management. In my course on collections management we were discussing packing and shipping objects and loans to and from institutions. We were discussing facilities reports and looking at the UKRG Standard Facilites Report from Spring 2004 as well as the AAM one as examples, In the UKRG one there is a section that states "In the event of an emergency who would be authorized to remove items from danger?" 

My question was: does an institution remove loaned items from their institution first during an emergency? 

While there were a lot of "it depends" answers I was wondering if anyone had a more concrete answer or experience in dealing with removing loaned items during emergencies or disasters.

Thanks!

------------------------------
    Rachel Moats
    Masters of Information Archives and Records Management Candidate (expected 2019)
    Masters of Museum Studies Candidate (expected 2019)
    Communications Representative, ACA Student Chapter
    iSchool Student Ambassador, Events and Tours
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Loaned objects during emergencies

Posted 11-16-2017 10:17 AM