Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Archiving Question Re: Original Order

Posted 01-07-2022 04:10 PM

Hello All!

I am a trained museum professional but have a minimal background in archiving, mostly learned on the job and through professional development post schooling. I would like to get the take of more experienced archivists with a decision I am trying to make about processing a new collection. Below is a fairly detailed description of the situation to give as much context as possible, but essentially by question is: should original order be maintained if that order was paper size? What are my blind spots or the potential pitfalls if a choose not/to maintain it?

Context:

A local cemetery that used to be managed by a church was passed to the city a few decades ago. Last year, the church was clearing out their archives and transferred all of their old management records related to that cemetery to us. The collection primarily includes ledgers, burial cards, and burial permits c. 1900-1940. The cards and permits literally came to us in boxes labeled "no order" but I have been trying to determine if there is any semblance of an original order to try to maintain or recreate.