Open Forum

View Only

URGENT: Data interviewee needed for graduate program assignment

• 1.  URGENT: Data interviewee needed for graduate program assignment

Posted 09-22-2021 11:23 AM

To Whom it may Concern:

My Interviewee has decided to drop out of this assignment at the last minute due to time restraints within the institution.

I will need to have notification of participation no later than 9/28/21, and Initial Interviews conducted by 10/05/21, with follow-ups throughout October. 

My name is Samantha Wilkinson, I am reaching out to you today to inquire about possible interest from your institution in participating in my Managing Digital Information in Museums and Archives Data Interview course assignment through Johns Hopkins University. I am a Museum Studies Graduate student, dually enrolled in the Digital Curation Certificate program.  I would greatly appreciate the insight and the opportunity to learn from a professional in the field. I am happy to send over my resume and experience, a professor contact, or a letter of recommendation if you wish.

The following is a description of the assignment requirements:

Directions:

Conduct an information interview with the contact you have made in a museum. Preferably, this will be a person working with collections information and objects, and producing digital information. We are trying to reach beyond the comparatively well-controlled documentation of a well-run collections management department. You should expect these interviews to be lengthy and detailed. Interviewees should be forewarned that this is a fairly significant commitment of time, anywhere from 3 to 6 hours over a few weeks. Our assignments and exercises are directed toward the creation of a mock but applicable digital curation plan.

The Interview will cover these topics:

1. The organizational structure and specifically the responsibilities within the organization for data management
    2. Description of the Collection.