Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  The PhD Question

Posted 07-25-2016 10:43 AM

Hi all,

I completed my Master's in art history in 2010, and have been working in the museum field for the past six years. I had originally intended to take a year or two off and then go back to grad school for a PhD, but obviously things haven't worked out that way. I've been a curator at the Roswell Museum and Art Center for the last three years, and plan on staying another two in order to finish a couple of large-scale exhibitions and catalogues. In the meantime, I've been debating what to do next. I like the job I have now, but I don't want to work in a small, perpetually cash-strapped museum forever if I can help it. I like museum work, but I wouldn't mind being at a larger institution with more resources. 

My professors from grad school expect me to go back for the PhD, but I'm debating whether I should. On the one hand, most of the positions I'm interested in include "PhD strongly preferred" in their job descriptions, so I feel that having only a Master's puts me at a disadvantage. On the other hand, by mid-2018 I'll have 8 years' worth of curatorial experience, 5 of which will have been spent as a full curator, as well as an assistant to the interim director during the 2015-2016 year, so in my opinion that experience has to be worth something. Though I'd like to return to academia and spend several years dedicating myself to studying and writing again, I haven't forgotten what a stressful experience it was the first time around. Moreover, having had a comfortable salary (and full insurance!) for the last three years, I'm not all that keen on going back to that Spartan existence if it won't necessarily benefit me in the long term. If I ever want to teach I know that a PhD is a requisite, but given the state of the humanities in higher education these days, as well as the gradual dissolution of tenure-track positions, I'm not particularly interested in going that route at this time.