Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Hello from Chicago

Posted 05-23-2016 11:26 PM

Hello, all! I finally had a chance to finally post to Museum Junction. I've been a member of AAM for 5 months now.

I'm Daniel-Josef Williams and I'm currently a student in Western Illinois University majoring in History and minoring in both Art History and Graphic Communication. About me and my past, I graduated from high school in 2007, and took graphic design courses at a local community college where I worked on Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign, and Dreamweaver. This was when I thought about doing "graphic designing for video games". After moving more closer to Chicago, I transferred to another and took general education courses. Back then, still hadn’t decided what my future plans were and so I took a hiatus from school to figure out what I wanted to do. During my hiatus, I taught myself how to play bass guitar and later joined a metal band called Nucleus. Then I started volunteering at a music venue for a few months.

I thought about applying to Art Institute school to pursue in Game Design since back then I was also doing game art for a hobby. Although I decided not to go to the school. (They seemed REALLY shady plus I heard of alot of lawsuits)  

During the summer of 2013, I took s Western Civilization course, where I developed an interest in history (Huge fan of WW2).  Since I was always into History, I believed that my education would be greatly enhanced by further exploration of art history. 

Last year, I started to do traditional painting and really got into museums. Since last fall, I started to volunteer at the local museum that's around my school. After 9 months of working there, I really felt that having a career in museums is perfect for me since a huge chuck of my life I've been doing some type of artwork. I've been working of archives in the museums and I've really got into it. Touching, researching, and learning the history of things really got to me.