Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Eventbrite

Posted 02-11-2015 04:40 PM
    Hello All,

I'm looking for feedback from museums that have used Eventbrite. Pros, cons, anything would be helpful. Thanks!

Best,

-------------------------------------------
    Jessica Hougen
    Curator
    U.S. Marshals Museum
    Fort Smith AR
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Eventbrite

Posted 02-12-2015 09:42 AM
    Hi Jessica,

We use Eventbrite for events such as lectures and family programs and find it to be really useful. For some context - we are a fairly small science education institution and historic natural history museum, budget around $1m, 11 FT staff. We also have an old website that does not allow us to build our own event registration/ticketing system, which is why we went to a third party. As a program manager, I've found Eventbrite to be a good, intuitive way to manage event attendance. They have tools for making a wait list, printing reports, and printing check-in lists. We don't use this feature but they also have smartphone integration using QR codes, so if you wanted to scan people's tickets at the door of your event, you could do that. A useful tool that I use, too, is the ability to create dedicated URLs for different efforts, so for instance, I create a different URL for an event to put in our newsletter and another to send to personal contacts, and then I can track which links are being clicked so I can measure the effectiveness of different marketing efforts.