Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  programs for all ages

Posted 12-31-2014 10:24 AM
    How can architecture and design find their way into art museum programming? People's awareness of their surrounds and the ways in which design professionals impact their lives and their communities needs to be nurtured. Any good examples?

Thanks,

June Freeman, director
    Architecture and Design Network
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: programs for all ages

Posted 01-03-2015 05:33 PM
    Hello, June -

First, a disclaimer:  I am not an architect, I'm an artist with a biology degree.  However, I have some thoughts on your question.  I cannot think of any examples that I've seen in other museums, but I have a suggestion for a general program activity that might get people thinking broadly about how architecture and design impact their lives.

I suggest facilitated discussion by playing "Architectural Pictionary".  Secretly ask one participant in the group to draw a picture of a specific kind of building or place (a bank, church, hospital, house, airport, restaurant, etc.) for 30 seconds (perhaps a few minutes for kids, but keep it short to maintain excitement).  When time's up, ask the rest of the group to guess what it is.  Some adults might be self-conscious or intimidated by drawing, but children would likely enjoy it, and if that situation presents itself, let the kids do the drawing.  For each correct guess, the drawer gets one point, and the drawer with the most points wins.  (Make it clear that their goal is to communicate through their drawing as clearly as possible, rather than to stump the guessers.)  The "quick draw" format will usually force people to mentally identify the most iconic and defining aspects of what they are envisioning and to draw those first, adding more details if time allows.