Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Archiving emails for long-term access

Posted 11-24-2014 01:31 PM
    At a recent meeting, our curators posed a question about the process people are using to "archive" important emails that relate to museum business. This was prompted by the hiring of a new curator & collections manager in one department who were trying to figure out the history of a NAGPRA claim and the communication history of the previous employees. This history was, theoretically, locked up in their university email accounts and the new curator wanted to avoid submitting a legal request to the university to gain access to those email accounts (which probably would have been within his rights, but he wasn't ready to take that aggressive of a move having just started his job).

As a collections manager, I of course suggested printing important emails and filing appropriately. They didn't like this suggestion and were hoping for a more "modern" or paper-free archiving system that wouldn't lock away messages in an email system.

Has anyone created a protocol for handling this archiving problem? Our university uses Google for the email system and unfortunately, you don't have the option of "Save as" in that inbox like in some other email systems. We got as far as "Print" and "Save as PDF" which you could then save to your computer or cloud filing system. Looking for some innovative solutions to this ubiquitous problem!

Thanks in advance,
    Angela

-------------------------------------------
    Angela Linn
    Senior Collections Manager, Ethnology & History
    University of Alaska Museum of the North
    Fairbanks AK
    ajlinn@alaska.edu
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Archiving emails for long-term access

Posted 11-25-2014 06:51 AM