Open Forum

• 1.  Museum Career Ideas

Posted 05-28-2016 07:49 PM

So I currently work three jobs (one of them is at a museum in Boston as a substitute museum guide).

I have a bachelors degree in history and am struggling to get by. I noticed that most history majors need a masters degrees to make above $30,000. With my heavy student loans I need to make more money. I noticed that the only job I can obtain with a bachelors degree in history that pays above $30,000 is a Museum Technician Position or Registrar, but I need 3-5 years of experience in the field to even be considered for a position. Moreover, I refuse to go back to school because my debt is so high.

What are some other history related careers at museums that one can work with a bachelors degree which pays above $30,000? How do I gain experience in those positions so that a museum would consider me for the career?

------------------------------
    Nyadenya Inyagwa
    Substitute Guide/Retail Sales Associate/Entrepreneur
    Paul Revere Memorial Association
    Boston MA
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: Museum Career Ideas

Posted 05-29-2016 04:16 PM

Hi, Nyadenya.

I know what you mean when you don't want to go back to school for a Master's because that's just more debt but I personally believe it's worth it. (I mean, you'd make more money with a Masters). Many careers these days requires you to atleast have a Master's unfortunately. 

Since you have a degree History (which is what I'm currently pursuing), you have to ask yourself where in the timeline of history had your most interest? For me, my most favorite timeline is WW2/Nazi Germany/Holocaust. Basically the early 1930s to the mid 1940s and then some. Also interested European History.