Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  national autism program list

Posted 03-22-2017 12:48 PM
    Hello, I am a second year Museology student at the University of Washington. 

In my thesis work I have compiled data about how many museum-based autism programs exits in each of the 50 US states. I want to put this information on a website so people can easily search for autism programs at museums near them or where they may be travelling and so museum professionals can see what the state of the field is like. Do any of you know of a list like this that is already circulating? Any recommendations for the best (and inexpensive) website maker? Ideally, I want to make it possible for museums to update and submit information about their program.  

Thank you, 
    Erin Salthouse
    AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 2.  RE: national autism program list

Posted 03-23-2017 01:42 PM
    While I do not know of any list like this, I am very interested in your findings as well as connecting to other museums that have effective programs in this area.  What is the best way for me to be in the loop on your progress?

Best of luck in your work!

Thanks!

Emily

------------------------------
    Emily Epley
    Executive Director
    The Earl Scruggs Center
    Shelby NC
    (704) 487-6233
    emily@earlscruggscenter.org

AAM Annual Meeting & MuseumExpo, Baltimore, May 16-19, 2024, click to learn more

• 3.  RE: national autism program list

Posted 03-24-2017 10:56 AM
    Hi Erin,

I can point you to an existing resource. In New York City we have a great organization called the Museum Access Consortium. One feature on their website is a calendar of public events with filters to select what type of program you're looking for. So, for example, they have a filter for programs for people with autism.